People and Projects

The members of the research cluster with their specific topics are:

Univ.-Prof. Dr. Philipp Ther
Social and economic history of the transformations in Europe since the late 1980s. At the moment he guides research projects on "Transformation from below", which compares shipyards in eastern Europe, and on volunteerism and fire brigades. Contact: philipp.ther@univie.ac.at 

Piotr Filipkowski, PhD
Transformations from Below: Shipyards and Labour Relations in the Uljanik (Croatia) and Gdynia (Poland) Shipyards since the 1980s. Contact: piotr.filipkowski@univie.ac.at

Dr. Agnieszka Pasieka
Transnational nationalism. Far-Right Nationalist Groups in East Central Europe in the 20th and 21st centuries. Contact: agnieszka.pasieka@univie.ac.at

Mag. Dr. Stephanie Weismann
The Smellscapes of Lublin. An Olfactory Urban History of the 20th Century in East Central Europe. Contact: stephanie.weismann@univie.ac.at

Mojmír Stránský, M.A.
Volunteering in Local Communities between Late Socialism and Liberal Capitalism: The History of Volunteer Fire Departments in Germany and East Central Europe, 1980-2000. Contact: mojmir.stransky@univie.ac.at

Dr. Lars Fredrik Stöcker
A Historical Reassessment of Economic Reforms at the Soviet Union’s Western Fringes, 1987–1991. Contact: lars.fredrik.stoecker@univie.ac.at

Lukas Becht, M.A.
From 'perspective planning' to 'strategic adjustment'. Polish Future Research in the transformation from state-socialism to market economy, 1980-2000. Contact: lukas.becht@univie.ac.at

Univ.Ass. Mag. Dr. Matthias Kaltenbrunner
Cars for the East: The (Il)legal Car Market in Poland, 1980-1990s. Contact: matthias.kaltenbrunner@univie.ac.at

Mag. Joanna Rozmus, BA
Lost in Transformation. Everyday Life in Former Polish State Farm Villages, 1981-2004. Contact: joanna.rozmus@univie.ac.at

Visiting Professor Rinna Kullaa
Russia and the Great Powers across the Mediterranean 1945-2015. Contact: rinna.kullaa@univie.ac.at 

Dr. Dean Vuletic
Intervision: Popular Music and Politics in Eastern Europe. Contact: dean.vuletic@univie.ac.at

Dr. Tamara Scheer
Linguistic strife in times of war. Eleven regimental languages and countless dialects: the Habsburg army was a Babel of languages. Contact: tamara.scheer@univie.ac.at

Univ.-Prof. Dr. Peter Becker
Transforming statehood in the Habsburg monarchy and its successor states. Within the framework of this wider research theme, he directs a FWF financed project on The emperors’s desk: a site of policy making in the Habsburg Empire? Francis Joseph I and his Cabinet Office. Contact: peter.becker@univie.ac.at

Andreas Enderlin-Mahr, M.A.
Informal ways to the Emperor’s Desk – The policy networks of Adolf Braun 1865–1899.
(Part of the FWF-Project „The Emperor’s Desk: A Site of Policy Making“). Contact:  andreas.enderlin@univie.ac.at