Directors:

Univ.-Prof. Dr. Philipp Ther
Director
Social and economic history of the transformations in Europe since the late 1980s. At the moment he guides research projects on "Transformation from below", which compares shipyards in eastern Europe, and on volunteerism and fire brigades.
Contact: philipp.ther@univie.ac.at 

Univ.-Prof. Dr. Claudia Kraft
Co-Director
Gender history and history of everyday life in state socialist societies after World War II, postcolonial perspectives on post-socialism. She directs a German-Polish research project (DFG/NCN) about “Rooms for Manoeuvre in State Socialism”, which investigates forms of historical agency in East Central Europe before and after 1989.
Contact: claudia.kraft@univie.ac.at

apl. Prof. Dr. Jannis Panagiotidis
Scientific Director
Contact: jannis.panagiotidis@univie.ac.at

Irena Remestwenski, M.A.
Managing Director

Contact: irena.remestwenski@univie.ac.at

 

Researchers:

MMag. Dr. Magdalena Baran-Szołtys
Stories Of/In Transformation. Literary Narratives of Transformation and Inequality in Post-Socialist Poland
Contact: magdalena.baran@univie.ac.at

Lukas Becht, M.A.
From 'perspective planning' to 'strategic adjustment'. Polish Future Research in the transformation from state-socialism to market economy, 1980-2000.
Contact: lukas.becht@univie.ac.at

Univ.-Prof. Dr. Peter Becker
Transforming statehood in the Habsburg monarchy and its successor states. Within the framework of this wider research theme, he directs a FWF financed project on The emperors’s desk: a site of policy making in the Habsburg Empire? Francis Joseph I and his Cabinet Office.
Contact: peter.becker@univie.ac.at

Andreas Enderlin-Mahr, M.A.
Informal ways to the Emperor’s Desk – governance networks, political practice and culture in the 19th century. (Part of the FWF-Project „The Emperor’s Desk: A Site of Policy Making“ univie.ac.at/emperorsdesk).
Contact: andreas.enderlin@univie.ac.at

Mag. Dr. Matthias Kaltenbrunner
Cars for the East: The (Il)legal Car Market in Poland, 1980-1990s.
Contact: matthias.kaltenbrunner@univie.ac.at

Dr. János Mátyás Kovács
Economic Collectivism: Old and New. Lessons from the Communist and Post-Communist Experience.
Contact: janos.kovacs@univie.ac.at

Dr. Agnieszka Pasieka
Transnational nationalism. Far-Right Nationalist Groups in East Central Europe in the 20th and 21st centuries.
Contact: agnieszka.pasieka@univie.ac.at

Dr. Lars Fredrik Stöcker
A Historical Reassessment of Economic Reforms at the Soviet Union’s Western Fringes, 1987–1991.
Contact: lars.fredrik.stoecker@univie.ac.at

Mojmír Stránský, M.A.
Volunteering in Local Communities between Late Socialism and Liberal Capitalism: The History of Volunteer Fire Departments in Germany and East Central Europe, 1980-2000.
Contact: mojmir.stransky@univie.ac.at

Dr. Dean Vuletic
Intervision: Popular Music and Politics in Eastern Europe.
Contact: dean.vuletic@univie.ac.at

Mag. Dr. Stephanie Weismann
The Smellscapes of Lublin. An Olfactory Urban History of the 20th Century in East Central Europe.
Contact: stephanie.weismann@univie.ac.at

 

Associated members:

Visiting Professor Rinna Kullaa
Russia and the Great Powers across the Mediterranean 1945-2015.
Contact: rinna.kullaa@univie.ac.at 

 

Former members:

Piotr Filipkowski, PhD
Transformations from Below: Shipyards and Labour Relations in the Uljanik (Croatia) and Gdynia (Poland) since the 1980s.
Contact: piotr.filipkowski@univie.ac.at